Embroidered “Quilt-ish” Blanket (In The Round)

I recently became a bit obsessed with embroidery, and was looking for a large project to try out some techniques on.

image

Since I had a ton of fabric left over from previous dying expiraments, I decided to make a “quilt” (not really a quilt, more of an improvisation) to have something to embroider on in a larger scale.

image

The blanket is made from two cotton dyed sheets which I used “shibori” dying techniques on to produce the white rings on the charcoaled colored surroundings.

image

For the “meat” of the blanket I cut an old wool blanket, and sandwiched it all together like a pillow, then flipped it inside out & sewed it closed. (The mechanics of it was not as easy as it sounds, took a lot of patience, but definitely NOTHING compared to quilting!)

image

Anyway, I decided to add some embroidery designs in the round, to go with the flow of the rest of the blanket.

image

image

I tried every technique that I could figure out how to do in a circle, then added some of my own random flare in spots.

image

image

This was my first attempt at embroidery in any fashion, but I think it turned out pretty great!

image

image

I washed the blanket in the washing machine (I have to, I have a toddler!)… it survived, and didn’t have any loose strings or anything so… Mission accomplished.

image

image

image

Thought I’d share it because it is very unique and kind of weird. (Just like me! Haha!)

Until next time!
πŸ„

4 Comments Add yours

  1. thetwisted1 says:

    Great idea! And your designs are so fun, love it!

    Like

    1. rainbowaarts says:

      Thank you! I had fun doing it 😁

      Like

  2. Colleen Sharpe says:

    This is your first attempt at embroidery?!?!? WOW, I love it! I’m going to have fun reading through all your blog posts because you are my kind of crafter – trying out everything!

    Like

    1. Thank you! I really do love to try out everything! 😁

      Like

Leave a comment